MINUTES OF THE Aerospace Nuclear Science and Technology (TG) MEETING AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY Omni Shoreham, Washington, D.C. November 14, 2004

Minutes of the **Aerospace Nuclear Science and Technology (TG)** Meeting, November 14, 2004, Omni Shoreham, Washington, D.C.

Members Present:

George Miley, Univ. of Illinois, Chair William J. Carmack, INEEL, Secretary Robert Singleterry, NASA, LeRC Kathryn A. McCarthy, INEEL T. K. Larson, INEEL Andy Klein, Oregon State University Leo Bobek, Univ. of Massachusetts, Lowell Shannon Bragg-Sitton, NASA-MSFC Michael L. Zerkle, Bechtel Bettis

Regrets:

- 1. Chair George Miley called the meeting to order at 10:00 am.
- 2. Introductions,

Introductions were made.

3. Meeting Agenda and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes.

The minutes from the Summer 2004 meeting were handed out. One correction was noted and the minutes were approved pending incorporation of the correction.

4. Newsletter,

A discussion was instigated on the current status of the newsletter. Input is required by Maria Groshner in order to issue the newsletter. The following items and members responsible for providing the input to Maria Groshner for inclusion in the newsletter:

ANS board liaison input – Kathryn McCarthy

Treasurer's report – Hamilton Hunter (Secretary's note – Ham has rescinded participation due to a change in job responsibilities. Tommy Larson should provide a simple summary of the treasury.

Old minutes – Jon Carmack – noted that minutes from previous meetings are posted on the website.

Student interests - Shannon Bragg-Sitton

5. New committee members,

No new committee members were present.

6. Committees,

Public Policy – A statement needs to be updated. Robert Singleterry took action to track down the current public policy statement and Leo Bobek (who currently serves on the ANS Public Policy committee) took action to update the statement to reflect ANST interests.

Technical Program – some discussion was made of the possibility of having a class 4 topical meeting in conjunction with the STAIF meeting. A motion was made and approved to table this option due to the support needed to arrange and

hold the planned 2005 embedded topical meeting at the Summer 2005 ANS meeting.

Membership – Currently, the ANST has 446 total members with 168 of those being student members. There has been a 54% increase since 2002-2003. Shannon took an action to send a questionnaire to members who separate from the ANST.

Student Conference -

Margaret Mikhosi (2005 Student Meeting Chair) was introduced and made a presentation on the planned 2005 student meeting.

Date: April 14 – 16, 2005 Hyatt Regency, Columbus, Ohio

Ms. Mikhosi noted that the following items were needed from ANS sections:

Key Note speaker

Need judges and help with technical chairs Need help with professional development

It was requested that a division representative attend the student conference to speak to students. Kathy McCarthy may go and will represent or find someone to represent the ANST at the student conference.

A request was made to provide judges at the student conference for best paper awards.

It was also noted that the \$200.00 voucher had not been issued to the student conference as approved in the Winter 2003 meeting. Tommy Larson will take action to make sure the voucher is provided to the student conference as soon as possible.

7. Treasurer's Report,

There has been an increase of \$100.00 in the accounts. Tommy Larson is not sure why but will find out. It was noted that a budget needs to be delivered to Karen? with Tommy Larson taking responsibility for this action. A motion was received to provide a \$50 amount to the student conference for a best paper award. This motion was seconded and approved. As an additional point, the group was reminded that 50% of all new funds are designated to go toward student interest topics until later funds are available. (The real agreement as in previous minutes, is that 50% of the funds be used for spending and the other 50% be retained to build the ANST's funds).

8. Bylaws,

Currently, the ANST is operating under model bylaws until the ANS division bylaws (model) are available. Don McEligot is the ANST representative and has been waiting for the ANS bylaws to be approved (Don McEligot notes that he has sent the draft to some of the EC for comment. They are base on an earlier draft of guidelines. He needs comments back). Kathy McCarthy took action to approach Don Hoffman on this topic so that we can resolve this issue for the ANST. Not having approved bylaws makes it difficult to operate the working group.

9. NPC Representative,

It was noted that Tommy Larson has been the NPC representative for an extended time. Jon Carmack and Mike Zerkle took action to help support Tommy and eventually to take over his NPC representative responsibilities. Four topics for the Winter 2005 meeting were discussed; Thermal fluids, Policy, Materials, and General Space Interests. Tommy will discuss with Bert Rutan having a session entitled "Access to Space."

10. Summer 2005 Space Nuclear Conference,

The status of the embedded topic was discussed. Student papers will be integrated into the general sessions by topic area. At this time there were five abstracts received. More people have indicated that they will be submitting abstracts. It was discussed whether there would be a banquet and it was decided that this would be difficult considering funding.

Corporate sponsors should be approached. It was noted that Ken Schultz possibly could be an interested representative of GA since the meeting will be held close to GA headquarters.

It was noted that Joe Koblich needs to be contacted to correct the meeting submission page link. Robert Singleterry emailed Joe from the meeting requesting the correction.

11. Nominating Committee,

A motion was made to nominate Shannon Bragg-Sitton to the vice-chair position to replace Jeff Randorf due to his fellowship assignment in Korea. The motion was seconded and approved.

It was noted that the membership committee is now Shannon Bragg-Stitton and Andy Klein. Leo Bobek was added to the membership committee in order to bring it up to the required number of three.

12. Finance Committee

The finance committee should be made up of the Secretary, Chair, and Treasurer. It was noted that the guiding edict for finance issues is that only up to 50% of all new funds can be allocated for expenditures in general (see previous note above).

13. Honors and Awards Committee

Until the ANST group is larger honors and awards will be developed through the general executive committee meetings.

16. New or Other Business.

Bernadette Kirk and representatives of a proposed working group "Computation Group on Calculated Medical Physics" were introduced and made a presentation requesting support. A motion was made and seconded for officially supporting the formation of this working group. The motion was approved.

A request was made to the group by Shannon Bragg-Sitton for topics and items to be placed in the brochure. Please email directly to Shannon.

17. Adjournment.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 noon.

Respectfully submitted,

William J. Carmack, Secretary ANS Aerospace Nuclear Science and Technology (TG) Committee