The results of the 2014 Election for Officers and Committee Members is available now. The six new elected positions are described below.

John Bess works on R&D in nuclear engineering at the Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, ID. William Saylor is involved in aerospace systems and energy consulting in in Bennett, CO. Laura Sudderth is a student researcher working on fuel cycle and materials at Texas A&M University, College Station, TX. Jeffery King is an assistant professor and interim program director in the nuclear science and engineering program at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, CO.

Chris Morrison

Chris is a space enthusiast who graduated from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University with a B.S. in Aerospace Engineering and Computer Science in 2012. During his senior year of undergrad he realized that nuclear power was a key technology for space and is now in his fourth year of pursuing his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. His initial research focused on nuclear system design for small modular reactors, but narrowed into reactor design using composite nuclear fuels form and reactor design. His dissertation is focused on developing safety features in matrix composite fuels, specifically into engineering prompt transient thermal feedback by changing the geometry and materials of the composite nuclear fuel forms. Chris is also training for his senior reactor operator license. He works on an educational startup on weekends and and hopes to eventually become a nuclear technology entrepreneur.

More Posts - Website